Alaska Alpha Chapter Report

Institution: University of Alaska Southeas

Reporting Year: 2015-2016

Advisor: Christopher Hay-Jahans

Advisor's Email Address:

Has There Been a Change in Chapter Advisor During the Past Year?: Yes. Andrzej Piotrowski (on sabbatical)

Permanent Faculty Correspondent: Christopher Hay-Jahans

Permanent Faculty Correspondent's Email Address:

Officers: Ashlynn Kay, President; Benjamin Malander, Vice-president/secretary

Chapter Website:

Number of New Members: 2

Number of Continuing Members: 3

Activities: (1) Andrzej Piotrowski of UAS gave a talk on Long division like you've never seen before (2) Andrzej Piotrowski and Auguste Stiehr, both of UAS, gave a talk on How John Wallis made his (half) Pi.

Do any of your chapter members plan to attend or present at the PME National Meeting this year? No.

Do you have any news about current students or recent graduations? For example, scholarships or other awards, acceptances to graduate school, paper presentations at conferences, etc.
Benjamin Malander was awarded the Ron Seater Mathematics award for 2015-2016 and Ashlynn Kay received the Student Employee of the Year Award for her work as a mathematics tutor at the Juneau Campus Learning Center.

If you were awarded a PME Lectureship, Conference, or Prize Grant within the past year, please briefly describe the results.