Maryland Delta Chapter Report

Institution: Hood College

Reporting Year: 2015-2016

Advisor: Ann Stewart

Advisor's Email Address:

Has There Been a Change in Chapter Advisor During the Past Year?: Yes. Betty Mayfield was on sabbatical this year.

Permanent Faculty Correspondent: 

Permanent Faculty Correspondent's Email Address: 

Officers: Sienna Bronson, President, Alyssa Burdette, Vice President, Jillian Kasner, Historian,

Chapter Website: http://

Number of New Members: 10

Number of Continuing Members: 8

Activities: We held our induction ceremony in April, with ten new student inductees. Chad Awtrey of Elon University was our speaker, funded with a Good Lectureship Grant.

Do any of your chapter members plan to attend or present at the PME National Meeting this year? No, not this year.

Do you have any news about current students or recent graduations? For example, scholarships or other awards, acceptances to graduate school, paper presentations at conferences, etc.
We were very proud of Megan Rodriguez, who was the recipient of the Council for Undergraduate Research Award for Outstanding Student Research at MathFest 2015 in Washington, D.C. Megan presented a talk based on her departmental honors paper, completed during AY 2014-15 under the supervision of James Parson, entitled “Graph Theory Representations and Computational Complexity of Sliding Block Ice Puzzles Inspired By Legend Of Zelda.”

If you were awarded a PME Lectureship, Conference, or Prize Grant within the past year, please briefly describe the results.
We were awarded both a PME Lectureship and a Prize Grant. Dr. Chad Awtrey of Elon University spoke at our annual Pi Mu Epsilon induction ceremony about his work with undergraduate research. His participation was funded by a Richard A. Good Lectureship Grant. We also received a prize grant, which partially funded our annual Pi Mu Epsilon Book Prizes awarded to outstanding graduating seniors at the Hood College Honors Convocation Ceremony. Our award recipients were Aynslie Barrie, Sienna Bronson, James Llewellyn Dean, Jillian Kasner, and Fiona Lyons.