Maryland Delta Chapter Report

Institution: Hood College

Reporting Year: 2016-2017

Advisor: Betty Mayfield

Advisor's Email Address:

Has There Been a Change in Chapter Advisor During the Past Year?: 

Permanent Faculty Correspondent: Ann Stewart

Permanent Faculty Correspondent's Email Address:

Officers: 2016-17 President: Karina Stetsyuk kas31 at hood dot edu Vice President: Dana Lee Lewis dal11 at hood dot edu Secretary: Alyssa Burdette aab14 at hood dot edu Treasurer: Jaclyn Bealer jb39 at hood dot edu

Chapter Website: http://

Number of New Members: 13

Number of Continuing Members: 8

Activities: For the first time ever (we think), we inducted a new member whose mom was also a member of our chapter! Rachel Keller '18 was inducted as a new member this month; her mother, Kelly Welty Keller, was one of our charter members, inducted in February 1990. (Eileen Poiani was our installing officer.) Our Pi Mu Epsilon Lecture this year was given by the two authors of the AMS blog "PhD + Epsilon" (, which was lots of fun.

Do any of your chapter members plan to attend or present at the PME National Meeting this year? no

Do you have any news about current students or recent graduations? For example, scholarships or other awards, acceptances to graduate school, paper presentations at conferences, etc.
Eli Nicholson and Karina Stetsyuk both have SURF internships at the National Institute of Standards and Technology this summer. Sienna Bronson '16, president of our chapter during the 2015-16 academic year, has just been accepted into the Ph.D. program at Arizona State University. She will begin in the fall. At the Hood College Honors and Awards Convocation this spring, the following PME members won awards, from the mathematics or other departments: John Pigott, Rachel Keller, Karen Canas, Alyssa Burdette, Jaclyn Bealer, Joseph Fawley, Timothy Taylor, Dana Lee Lewis.

If you were awarded a PME Lectureship, Conference, or Prize Grant within the past year, please briefly describe the results.
We used our PME Prize Grant to award our annual Hood College Pi Mu Epsilon Book Prize to three students: Jaclyn Bealer, Joseph Fawley, and Timothy Taylor. This year we gave each of our recipients a copy of "The Joy of Set" by Lafayette College mathematicians Liz McMahon and Gary Gordon, together with a deck of SET cards. Thank you!!